What should you eat if you are unable to find a halal nearby but are feeling really hungry? This is the question I have to confront every time I go out of Tokyo for business or for personal reasons. On most such occasions, I have no time to actually try to find a halal restaurant nearby after a long business meeting. I am sure this is the very question many Muslim visitors to Japan face day in and day out. However, a major difference between me (and, other Muslims like me in the country as well, of course) and Muslim visitors to the country is that I can communicate in Japanese while they can not, in most cases.
To help such Muslim brothers and sisters visiting the country, Halal Japan has been conducting extensive surveys to find halal-friendly snacks, cookies, some sort of Onigiri (A Japanese rice ball) and juices which you could buy at any convenience store easily. Many of these halal or Muslim-friendly items might be similar to each other in most of these convenience stores in the country. However, there are some subtle differences as well.
Let us try to find the answer to this vital question while not losing our faith in Halal. For some, this question may be intimidating. For others, the situation may provide an excuse to end up eating haram food while they are visiting different parts of Japan. For still others, this is simply a question of survival. The last type of folks keeps on looking for a possible solution to this problem. The present article is for those kinds of people. Generally speaking, they can not speak the Japanese language at all but are looking for something halal to eat desperately. We will try to address their basic food requirements in a halal way.
Halal Food Availability in Japanese Convenience Stores
Juices/Soft Drinks Available At Convenience Stores
Juices or soft drinks may be easiest to find at any convenience store or supermarket anywhere in Japan. You can take any of these juices available out there depending on your personal likings or dislikings.
Halal Bento (Lunch Box) At A Few 7-Eleven Stores
Grabbing a halal bento or lunch box from a nearby 7-Eleven store may be an easy choice. However, the problem is that the halal lunch box or bento is available only at a handful of 7-Eleven stores in the country as the company has started this service on an experimental basis.
Halal Onigiri At Family Mart
Although the Above-mentioned onigiri being sold at Family Mart is halal, it has no halal mark on it. You may eat it without any worries, Insha Allah.
We are going to add more halal products available at various convenience stores in Japan. Please stay tuned.
will be visiting tokyo next year insya Allah.
thanks a lot for this article.